06 September 2006

George Harrison - Best of Dark Horse 1976-1989 (1989)

Image Hosted by

"Best of Dark Horse 1976-1989" is George Harrison's second official compilation album and was released in 1989. It follows up on both his successful comeback album Cloud Nine in 1987 and the Harrison-led Traveling Wilburys Vol. 1 the following year, also a big seller.

Specially for this release, Harrison recorded two new songs, "Poor Little Girl" and "Cockamamie Business", while also including his Lethal Weapon 2 soundtrack song "Cheer Down" for good measure.

A fine summation of his period thus far on his own Dark Horse Records label, ranging from 1976's Thirty Three & 1/3 to Cloud Nine and beyond, Best of Dark Horse 1976-1989 surprisingly failed to chart in the UK and only made #132 in the US.

Best of Dark Horse 1976-1989, originally distributed through Warner Brothers Records, went out of print some years after its release, without being reissued by EMI when it acquired Harrison's entire Dark Horse catalogue. With no definitive career-spanning Harrison yet available, 1976's The Best of George Harrison is currently the only Harrison retrospective on offer.

Track listing:
All songs by George Harrison, except where noted.
1. "Poor Little Girl" - 4:33
2. "Blow Away" - 3:59
3. "That's The Way It Goes" - 3:34
4. "Cockamamie Business" - 5:15
Tracks 1 & 4 are exclusive new recordings for this album
5. "Wake Up My Love" - 3:32
6. "Life Itself" - 4:24
7. "Got My Mind Set On You" (Rudy Clark) - 3:51
8. "Crackerbox Palace" - 3:56
9. "Cloud 9" - 3:14
10. "Here Comes The Moon" - 4:09
11. "Gone Troppo" - 4:23
12. "When We Was Fab" (George Harrison/Jeff Lynne) - 3:56
13. "Love Comes To Everyone" - 3:40
14. "All Those Years Ago" - 3:44
15. "Cheer Down" (George Harrison/Tom Petty) - 4:08
Also featured in the film Lethal Weapon 2

Pass: L@ter
Pimpo says: I like this album!